Anohni Announces New ‘Paradise’ EP, Releases Title Track

Anohni Announces New ‘Paradise’ EP, Releases Title Track

Some good news during this dark week.

Some good news during this dark week.

Text: Jake Viswanath

Anohni has just announced a new EP, Paradise, delivered with the lead single of the same name. The new project follows last year’s critically-acclaimed album HOPELESSNESS, and if this track is any indication, the EP will serve as a fitting compliment to the record.

The pounding beats and menacing synth whirl come courtesy of frequent collaborators Hudson Mohawke and Oneohtrix Point Never, turning the transgender musician’s politically-charged lyrics into both a club stomper and a plea for change.

Lines like “Paradise/World without end/Hopelessness/Sinks into the earth” are immensely harrowing, especially in light of Trump’s recent power-abusing actions like the executive orders regarding immigration and climate change. But if Anohni has provided anything in the past year, it’s anthems for fighting injustice and taking solace from the world.

The six-track EP will be released on March 17. View the track list and album artwork below.

1. “In My Dreams”

2. “Paradise”

3. “Jesus Will Kill You”

4. “You Are My Enemy’

5. “Ricochet”

6. “She Doesn’t Mourn Her Loss”


Frances Bean Cobain is the First Singular Face of Marc Jacobs in Four Years