Balmain and Barbie Are Launching the Most Playful Collaboration

Balmain and Barbie Are Launching the Most Playful Collaboration

Balmain and Barbie Are Launching the Most Playful Collaboration

Olivier Rousteing, Creative Director at the French Haute Couture Maison Balmain, reimagined Barbie dolls styles through a limited-edition collection.

Olivier Rousteing, Creative Director at the French Haute Couture Maison Balmain, reimagined Barbie dolls styles through a limited-edition collection.

Text: Noelann Bourgade

While in 1945 Pierre Balmain presented a miniaturized collection worn by 200 dolls at the “Théâtre de la Mode”, Olivier Rousteing pays tribute to the genius’s work and took the bet, 80 years after, to recreate and reinvent a new collection on legendary Barbie dolls.

Diverse, inclusive, and groundbreaking, the new collection has for main role to recreate an appealing universe open to everyone, offering garments in an almost 100% unisex collection.

The new collection is combining iconic pieces such as the marinière, one of the signature pieces of Balmain as well as the in-house Labyrinth pattern originally designed by Monsieur Balmain.

“There are also several new takes on iconic silhouettes that were first presented on Balmain Paris Fashion Week runways—with each design slightly adjusted to reflect the new modern Barbie aesthetic, while remaining true to the exacting standards of Balmain’s famed ateliers”.

Loyal to the history and spirit of Barbie’s world, Balmain developed badges, hoodies and tees that immediately refer to Barbie and added accessories and motifs which reflects Balmain’s identity.

The color palette, mainly pink because of the iconic dolls’ signatures, evolves from the softest to the strongest tones as it “perfectly reflects the modern Balmain Army’s bold spirit”.

As modernity and innovation remains at the heart of this short collection, “three one-of-a-kind Barbie and Ken NFTs will be auctioned off, online. Styled with a complete look from our collaboration, each of these Balmain x Barbie avatars comes accompanied with a bespoke, Barbie-sized Balmain x Barbie ensemble, for a singular digital and physical pairing.”

The ‘New French Style’ of Balmain is inspired by joyful and multicultural Parisian pace in this eclectic collection.

Launching on January 13th, the collection breaks boundaries and opens up on gender limitations.

Credits:
Photographer: Rob Rusling @robrusling @fecreatives
Stylist: Alba Melendo @albamelendo
Model: Yilan Hua @yilan_hua @thefaceparis
Model: Marie Lou Gomis @marielougomis @theclawmodels
Model: Fernando Lindez @fernando_lindez @newmadisonmodels
Hair Stylist: Pablo Kuemin @pablokuemin @bryantartists
Makeup artist : Samira Goyette @samira_pikpo @packbackage
Manicurist: Typhaine Kersual @typhainekersual @artistsunit
Set Designer: David De Quevedo @cadenceimage
DOP: Basile Baudelet @b.baudelet
Production: Louis2 @louis2paris

UP NEXT

Billie Eilish, Andrew Garfield Among Big Winners at the Golden Globes
The complete list of winners from this years Golden Globes.