BENEE Announces Debut Album ‘Hey u x’

The 20-year-old breakout popstar from New Zealand will release her debut album November 13, featuring Lily Allen, Grimes and more.

20-year-old New Zealand platinum sensation Benee announced her debut album Hey u, x, a 13-track highly anticipated release which features collaborations with an A-list lineup including Lily Allen, Grimes, Flo Milli, Gus Dapperton, Mallrat, Kenny Beats, Bakar and Muroki.


The artist, described as a “lockdown sensation” by the Evening Standard, rose to quick and viral fame earlier this year with her Platinum-certified hit “Supalonely” feat. Gus Dapperton, which has over 2.1 billion global streams and will be featured on Hey u, x.

Known for her silky-smooth vocals and energetic, pulsating beats, Benee calls Hey u, x  “an eclectic mix of songs [she’s] been working on for some time now,” which is set for a November 13 release and will also include her more recent tracks, like “Snail” and “Night Garden” feat. Kenny Beats and Bakar.


The breakout artist released her first EP, FIRE ON MARZZ, last summer—the world’s first glimpse into the bright, cheery, powerful pop sound of Benee, aka Stella Bennett, the music industry’s newest slice of catchy hits and sunshiney vibes.

‘Hey u, x’ album artwork by Terry Hoff.

As concerts have returned in New Zealand, Benee is currently on her sold-out headline tour across the country and will be treating fans worldwide to a livestream finale from New Zealand’s Spark Arena on October 17, making history as the world’s first live streamed show in front of a sold-out arena audience of 12,000 people.


If a globally viral song and historic livestreamed headline tour weren’t enough, the artist showcased her talent and ambition even further by announcing the launch of Olive last week, her New Zealand-based record label featuring 19-year-old Muroki, the first signing on the label and a featured artist on Hey u, x


Benee recently received nominations at the MTV EMAs (PUSH Best New Artist Category), E! People’s Choice Awards (The New Artist of 2020 Category) and New Zealand’s Aotearoa Music Awards (Single of the Year, Best Solo Artist and Best Pop Artist). 


See the full tracklist for Benee’s Hey u, x below and download the album on all platforms November 13th or pre-order here.

Hey u x Tracklist:

  1. “Happen To Me”
  2. “Same Effect”
  3. “Sheesh” feat. Grimes
  4. “Supalonely” feat. Gus Dapperton
  5. “Snail”
  6. “Plain” feat. Lily Allen & Flo Milli
  7. “Kool”
  8. “Winter”
  9. “A Little While”
  10. “Night Garden” feat. Kenny Beats & Bakar
  11. “All The Time” feat. Muroki
  12. “If I Get To Meet You”
  13. “C U”
Discover More