CFDA Announces This Year’s Fashion Awards Nominees

Featuring two new international categories.

The Council of Fashion Designers of America recently announced the nominees for the 2020 CFDA Fashion Awards. The in-person event, initially scheduled for June 8, was postponed indefinitely due to the coronavirus pandemic. 

“In this time of unprecedented challenge and change for our industry, we feel very strongly that it is important to recognize the nominees representing the best of fashion creativity,” said Tom Ford, Chairman of the CFDA. “We look forward to returning to an in-person celebration honoring the American fashion industry in 2021.” 

The winners from each of the six categories will be revealed on and CFDA’s social channels on Monday, Sept. 14, during the start of New York Fashion Week.

“In lieu of the in-person event, we will be prioritizing new and existing programming to support our designer community during the global pandemic — by redirecting efforts towards next generation scholarships and making important changes to bring racial equity to the fashion industry,” said Steven Kolb, President and CEO of the CFDA. “The annual gala serves as our largest fundraiser, and our hope is to continue raising money to support this work through industry contributions.” 

Additionally, two new international categories are being featured in this year’s CFDA Fashion Awards: Global Women’s Designer of the Year and Global Men’s Designer of the Year. Voting opened yesterday, July 20, and ends on July 27 at midnight EST. 

View the 2020 nominees for each category below:

American Womenswear Designer of the Year

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Brandon Maxwell

Gabriela Hearst

Marc Jacobs

Tom Ford


American Menswear Designer of the Year

Emily Adams Bode for Bode

Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss

Thom Browne

Todd Snyder

Tom Ford


American Accessories Designer of the Year

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Gabriela Hearst

Jennifer Fisher for Jennifer Fisher Jewelry

Stuart Vevers for Coach

Telfar Clemens for Telfar


American Emerging Designer of the Year

Christopher John Rogers

Kenneth Nicholson

Peter Do

Reese Cooper

Sarah Staudinger

George Augusto for Staud


Global Women’s Designer of the Year

Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta

Dries Van Noten

Miuccia Prada for Prada

Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino

Rick Owens


Global Men’s Designer of the Year

Craig Green

Dries Van Noten

Jonathan Anderson for Loewe

Kim Jones for Dior

Virgil Abloh for Louis Vuitton

Discover More