Miley Cyrus Leans Into Her Roots on “Younger Now”

Miley Cyrus Leans Into Her Roots on “Younger Now”

Miley Cyrus Leans Into Her Roots on “Younger Now”

Watch the adorable video for the superstar's heartwarming new single.

Watch the adorable video for the superstar's heartwarming new single.

Text: Jake Viswanath

Miley Cyrus has shined under the spotlight for what feels like a lifetime, so it’s easy to forget that she’s still only a young woman in her mid-20s. No one is more aware of this than the superstar herself, as she seeks to remind us on “Younger Now,” the new single and title track from her upcoming sixth studio album, due on September 29.

For the first time in song, Miley acknowledges her chameleon-like career, coming to terms with all of her phases but wistfully disowning her past selves. Ironically, it gets us closer to her Tennessee roots than ever before. Therapeutic lines like “even though it's not who I am, I’m not afraid of who I used to be” are backed by an unapologetically country-pop production, a modernized take on the soundscapes of her godmother (and future album collaborator) Dolly Parton. The sunny guitar riffs and soaring chorus sweep you into a warm yet pensive haze, reminiscent of those early-00s Sheryl Crow campfire pop bops that still haunt radio today.

In a time when political turmoil can affect who we are and how we evolve as people at any given moment, “Younger Now” shines as a respite in the midst of chaos, a soothing reminder that we and the world never stop growing. Miley herself reaches a moment of inner peace and comes closer than ever to finding herself — but as she reminds us, “change is a thing you can count on.” Somehow, that’s the most reassuring thing we can hear right now.

In the accompanying video, which the artist co-directed with longtime collaborator Diane Martel, she uses this opportunity to flip ageism on its head and highlight how people can change and do anything they want, age be damned. Miley and her gang of misfits and rock kids descend onto a 50s country vaudeville carnival, decked in rhinestoned pantsuits and all, where nothing is off-limits and the only things celebrated are love and happiness. If that dance scene evoking a pastel-shaded “Hoedown Throwdown” doesn’t make you beam, nothing will.

Alongside the new single, Miley also revealed the album’s tracklist and an incredible album cover that meshes classic 70s country aesthetics with Hannah Montana-esque neon hues. Combined with the music thus far, the era feels like the essence of Miley Cyrus, in the past, present, and future.

Younger Now will be released on September 29, and is available to pre-order now. Peep the album art and tracklist below.

Younger Now

1. Younger Now

2. Malibu

3. Rainbowland (feat. Dolly Parton)

4. Week Without You

5. Miss You So Much

6. I Would Die for You

7. Thinkin'

8. Bad Mood

9. Love Someone

10. She's Not Him

11. Inspired


Watch Lorde Reimagine "Melodrama"
Lorde authentically delivers 6 reimagined tracks off her wildly successful album