Who Are the Most Popular Models and Designers on Instagram?

Who Are the Most Popular Models and Designers on Instagram?

Kendall Jenner, Dior, and more make the list.

Kendall Jenner, Dior, and more make the list.

Text: Jake Viswanath

The Jenner-Kardashian crew are now reigning in even more ways. Instagram has unveiled their data on the most buzzed-about models and designers on the social network in 2017, and Kendall Jenner took the top spot in many categories. The supermodel and V cover star is the most followed and buzzed-about model of the year, leading with a staggering 83.7 million followers, and posted the most-liked photo among models as well, gaining 4.5 million likes with a crop-top selfie complete with pizza emojis. The Hadid sisters, Gigi and Bella, and Gisele Bündchen, ranked right behind Kendall in follower count, with Chrissy Teigen, Adriana Lima, and Miranda Kerr also making the list.

🍕🍕🍕

A post shared by Kendall (@kendalljenner) on

On the fashion side, Dior rised as the most buzzed-about designer of 2017, with Hermés and Louis Vuitton following close behind, while Chanel finishes out the year as the network’s most followed designer, with Gucci and Louis in tow. Dior’s ranking comes as no surprise as their “We Should All Be Feminists” t-shirt caused oodles of online buzz in a turbulent political time of women’s marches and sexual assault scandals, where the message is more than poignant.B ut it was Gucci’s Alessandro Michele and Fenty Puma’s Rihanna themselves that emerged as most engaged with their followers this year, taking the top two spots above rising designers like Molly Goddard and Virgil Abloh.

Victoria Beckham also took the top spot in a couple categories, earning the most-viewed Story and most-liked photo of all designers this year. The photo is question is of her famous husband David and has nothing to do with her fashion line, but it remains a great achievement nonetheless (a photo of David Beckham is never a bad thing.)

Check out the full data from Instagram below.

Instagram's Year in Fashion 2017

Top 10 most followed designers

1. Chanel (@chanelofficial) 25M followers

2. Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton) 19.2M+ followers

3. Gucci (@gucci) 17.8M+ followers

4. Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham) 17.2M+ followers

5. Dior (@dior) 17.2M+ followers

6. Dolce and Gabbana (@dolcegabbana) 15M+ followers

7. Prada (@prada) 13.5M+ followers

8. Michael Kors (@michaelkors) 10.6M+ followers

9. Calvin Klein (@calvinklein) 10.2M+ followers

10. Versace (@versace_official) 10.2M+ followers

Top 10 designers with the most engaged followers in 2017

1. Alessandro Michele (@lallo25)

2. Fenty Puma by Rihanna (@fentyxpuma)

3. Haider Ackermann (@h.a)

4. Diane von Furstenberg (@therealdvf)

5. LaQuan Smith (@laquan_smith)

6. Molly Goddard (@mollymgoddard)

7. John Galliano (@jgalliano)

8. Iris van Herpen (@irisvanherpen)

9. Supreme (@supremeny)

10. Virgil Abloh (@virgilabloh)

Most buzzed-about designers of 2017

1. Dior (@dior)

2. Hermès (@hermes)

3. Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton)

4. Saint Laurent (@ysl)

5. Topshop (@topshop)

6. Balenciaga (@balenciaga)

7. Burberry (@burberry)

8. Balmain (@balmain)

9. Chloé (@chloe)

10. Ralph Lauren (@ralphlauren)

Top 10 designers who gained the most followers on Instagram in 2017

1. Chanel (@chanelofficial): Gained 9.6 million followers

2. Gucci (@gucci): Gained 8.1 million followers

3. Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton): Gained 7 million followers

4. Dior (@dior): Gained 5.9 million followers

5. Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham): Gained 5.7 million followers

6. Supreme (@supremeny): Gained 4.8 million followers

7. Dolce and Gabbana (@dolcegabbana): Gained 4.5 million followers

8. Prada (@prada): Gained 4.3 million followers

9. Calvin Klein (@calvinklein): Gained 3.9 million followers

10. Versace (@versace_official) Gained 3.5 million followers

Designers who garnered the most Stories views

1. Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham)

2. Dior (@dior)

3. Dolce and Gabbana (@dolcegabbana)

4. Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton)

5. Calvin Klein (@calvinklein)

6. Gucci (@gucci)

7. Tommy Hilfiger (@tommyhilfiger)

8. Versace (@versace_official)

9. Chanel (@chanelofficial)

10. Fendi (@fendi)

Most buzzed-about models of the year 

1. Kendall Jenner (@kendalljenner)

2. Gigi Hadid (@gigihadid)

3. Gisele Bündchen (@gisele)

4. Bella Hadid (@bellahadid)

5. Cara Delevingne (@caradelevingne)

6. Hailey Baldwin (@haileybaldwin)

7. Adriana Lima (@adrianalima)

8. Barbara Palvin (@realbarbarapalvin)

9. Josephine Skriver (@josephineskriver)

10. Emily Ratajkowski (@emrata)

UP NEXT

Sanchita Ajjampur, the Designer Shaping the Global Fashion Industry