The 2021 LVMH Prize For Young Fashion Designers Announces Winners

A Jury of judges from the LVMH Group awarded young designers from around the world with endowments and mentorships for their brands.

For up-and-coming fashion designers, all eyes are on the prize—that is, the LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers.


The final of the 8th edition took place in Paris on September 7 at the Louis Vuitton foundation, awarding prizes from a panel of six artistic directors from LVMH Group brands: Virgil Abloh, Jonathan Anderson, Maria Grazia Chiuri, Marc Jacobs, Kim Jones and Stella McCartney, along with Delphine Arnault, Jean-Paul Claverie and Sidney Toledano.

Isabelle Huppert, Nensi Dojaka and Delphine Arnault. Courtesy of Saskia Lawaks.

Of nine finalists, 27-year-old Albanian womenswear designer Nensi Dojaka was awarded the LVMH Prize, presented by French actress Isabelle Huppert. The London-based designer will undergo a year-long mentorship by a team of LVMH fashion experts as part of her prize, alongside the 300,000-euro endowment she received.


“I am very happy that the 2021 LVMH Prize has been awarded to Nensi Dojaka,” said Arnault. “Her sensual and tailored fashion breaks with the conventions of womenswear, combining confidence and style.”


Presented with an array of talent, the Jury awarded the Karl Lagerfeld Prize—also presented by Huppert—to three designers: Colm Dilane, the 29-year-old American designer who founded Brooklyn-based KidSuper, specializing in both menswear and womenswear; Lukhanyo Mdingi, a 29-year-old South African menswear and womenswear designer based in Capetown; and Rui Zhou, 26, a Shanghai-based designer behind the genderless fashion label Rui. Each of the three Karl Lagerfeld Prize winners will receive a one-year mentorship and a 150,000-euro endowment.

Lukhanyo Mdingi

“All three have sharp and unique visions of today’s fashion,” said Arnault of the three winners. “The 8th edition is evidence of the international scope and appeal of the LVMH Prize: hailing from over 100 countries, nearly 2,000 candidates applied this year. I am especially grateful to the nine finalists for their valuable presence despite the exceptional circumstances. I applaud their outstanding talent and creativity. I am delighted that the LVMH Prize has placed the spotlight on their work and will help them develop their brand.” 


Alongside the winners, three fashion school graduates—Adam Kost (Paris), Franziska Simon (Düsseldorf) and Eric Starc (Venice)—were distinguished, and each will receive 10,000 euros and join the studios of Louis Vuitton menswear, Dior menswear and Dior womenswear respectively for one year.


The 9th edition of the LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers is set to take place in 2022; the 8th edition is a reminder that the great young designers of the future are preparing to grace the runways today.

Discover More