The Academy Reaches Diversity Goal With New List of 2020 Invitees

Amongst the 819 newest members include Awkwafina, Cynthia Erivo, and Zendaya.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is diversifying its membership this year by inviting a total of 819 new members, with the majority being women and minorities. Following #OscarsSoWhite in January 2016 and the postponement of the 93rd Academy Awards, the organization’s new list of invitees includes 45% women, 36% underrepresented ethnic/racial communities, and 49% international from 68 countries. 

“We take great pride in the strides we have made in exceeding our initial inclusion goals set back in 2016, but acknowledge the road ahead is a long one,” said Academy CEO Dawn Hudson in a statement. “We are committed to staying the course.” 

Notable candidates include Awkwafina, Zendaya, Constance Wu, Florence Pugh, Cynthia Erivo, and Eva Longoria. Several South Korean actors from Best Picture winner Parasite have been invited as well, including Park So-Dam, Lee Jung-Eun, Jo Yeo-Jeong, Jang Hye-Jin, and Choi Woo-Shik. If the new class of 2020 accept their invitations, the Academy would bring its membership total to 9,412. 

View the full list of 2020 invitees here.

Discover More