The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Class of 2021 Has Been Announced

Rock, pop, and rap icons are among the few being inducted this year

Being inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame is one of those things that several musicians aspire to. And, with the announcement of the Class of 2021 inductees, these 13 musicians have the chance to live that honor for themselves.

The list of musicians inducted was broken down into four categories. These are:

Performer Category (for bands and solo artists whose careers have impacted the development of the music we know today)

Tina Turner
Carole King
The Go-Go’s
Foo Fighters
Todd Rundgren

Early Influence Award (similar to the Performer Category, but with a more direct impact on the growth of rock and roll music)

Charley Patton
Gil Scott-Heron

Musical Excellence Award (for artists, musicians, songwriters, and producers who have greatly impacted the musical landscape)

LL Cool J
Billy Preston
Randy Rhoads

Ahmet Ertegun Award (for a non-performing industry professional who has allowed the industry to grow through their support)

Clarence Avant

The prime factor that makes this class stand out is the sheer diversity, not just in terms of backgrounds but also musical style and impact. “This diverse class of talented Inductees reflects the Rock Hall’s ongoing commitment to honor artists whose music created the sound of youth culture,” said John Sykes, Chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation. “It will make for an unforgettable live celebration of music in October at this year’s Induction Ceremony in Cleveland.”

The main criteria for induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame is that the artist’s first record should have been released 25 years before their induction. For an artist like Jay-Z, for example, that puts him in the best timeframe for his induction this year, given that his first single was released in 1994.

The 36th Annual Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place on October 30, 2021 at 8 PM ET in Cleveland, Ohio. The ceremony will air on Sirius XM’s Hall of Fame radio channel 310, and on HBO and HBO Max at a later date. Tickets will be available to the public and members starting in July.

Discover More