V’s New Music Round-Up

Here are some of the best and biggest releases of the week

Hello and welcome! Do you want something to not remind you of the fact that temperatures are going sub-zero? Do you want something to keep you warm and fuzzy? Then welcome to V’s new music round-up, where we tune you into some of the week’s biggest and best releases, whether they be singles or albums.

Here’s this week’s top picks:

Good News by Megan Thee Stallion

Megan Thee Stallion’s year has been an absolute rollercoaster and a half, but she manages to end it on a strong note with her debut record. She manages to effortlessly bring all the confidence and sex appeal that she’s brought all year, justifying the hype and cementing her status as a rising superstar.


The global phenomenon’s fifth Korean-language album manages to hit home about everything that the world has been going through in 2020. The Bangtan Boys manage to deliver a record that’s personal, uplifting, and that should probably garner them a cool million more fans or so.

“Monster” by Shawn Mendes and Justin Bieber

Two of the biggest boys-turned-men in the pop game team up on “Monster.” Mendes and Bieber confront the lowest lows that came with their early fame and grapple with becoming the titular “monster.” It’s pop, it’s R&B, it’s rock, it’s also tinged with a little bit of Halloween.

“Prisoner” by Miley Cyrus ft. Dua Lipa

Keeping the high profile collab train going, Cyrus and Lipa’s “Prisoner” is their ode to a bond they can’t quit. This disco-rock banger comes right out of the 80s and shows off pop’s two biggest at their baddest and best.

“Be Happy” by Dixie D’Amelio (Dillon Francis Remix)

D’Amelio’s original track should be melancholic, but is oddly calming, telling the listener to not worry about not being happy all the time. Francis’ remix, however, ups the tempo and vocal distortion to potentially make you quite happy coming out of the track. The power of music, everyone.

“Pick Up Your Feelings” by Jazmine Sullivan

One of R&B’s stalwarts, Sullivan’s newest go-f-yourself anthem is head-bopping, finger-snapping goodness. A slick percussion and the rising notes in the background make for a joyful almost four minutes of “I’m done with you, now leave.”

“Slow Down” by Vanjess

The sister-duo continue to produce some quality music. On their newest track, they really do slow it down with a saxophone line and almost blues-y feel. Their vocal harmonies are, as always, completely in-sync and create a complete package of a song.

“nhs” by Slowthai

British rapper Slowthai ends our list on a raw and unfiltered note with his newest track. “nhs” is contemplative and emotional, laying bare the rapper’s worries, feelings, and journey. His signature style and heavy accent come through and make the song that much more real. Oof, the feels.

Discover More