CFDA Announces Its 2020 CFDA Fashion Awards Winners

These six forces of fashion deserve their due recognition — pandemic or not.

Today, the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) is bringing us the names of the six winners of the 2020 CFDA Fashion Awards. Originally scheduled for Monday, June 8th, the in-person event was indefinitely postponed due to the COVID-19 outbreak — so instead, the Chairman of the CFDA Board Tom Ford has decided to recognize and honor the best talents in fashion via a video that premiered on CFDA’s new innovative digital platform RUNWAY360.
This is the first CFDA Fashion Award for each designer in the four American categories and represents the most diverse group of recipients in the 39-year history of the awards. All winners and nominees were determined by the CFDA Awards Guild, comprised of CFDA members, leading fashion journalists, stylists and top retail executives.
American Womenswear Designer of the Year: Gabriela Hearst
American Menswear Designer of the Year: Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss
American Accessories Designer of the Year: Telfar Clemens for Telfar
American Emerging Designer of the Year: Christopher John Rogers
International Women’s Designer of the Year: Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino
International Men’s Designer of the Year: Kim Jones for Dior

But that is not all — since the CFDA Fashion Awards serve as the CFDA’s largest fundraiser for scholarships, the organization is also announcing the recipients of the 2020 CFDA Scholar Awards. This year, the program increased its annual student awards from $100,000 to $175,000 across seven eligible $25,000 scholarships.
CFDA Design Scholars: Chris Pleasant, Virginia Commonwealth University; Yanbing Fan, Academy of Art University;
Honorable Mention: Kylie Carroll, Virginia Commonwealth University
CFDA/K11 Scholar (MFA/MA): Uyen Tran, Parsons School of Design;
Honorable Mention: Evaristo Pereira, Savannah College of Art and Design
$25,000 CFDA/K11 Scholar (BFA/BA): Mohua Goswami, Fashion Institute of Technology
Honorable Mention: Yitao Li, Fashion Institute of Technology
CFDA Design Scholar Suntchi Image-Maker Award: Eliana Batsakis, School of Art Institute of Chicago;

Honorable Mention: Sidonia Wu, Parsons School of Design
Liz Claiborne Design for Impactful Futures Scholar Award: Daniela Gutierrez Arreguin, Savannah College of Art and Design;
Honorable Mention: Rashida Birdlong, Academy of Art University
Geoffrey Beene Design Masters Scholar Award: Milijana Delic, Academy of Art University;
Honorable Mention: Camerin Stoldt, Fashion Institute of Technology

Discover More